One Nation, Under Corn

10 Oct

Do you know what happens in corn syrup factories? Me neither. In fact, no one knows. I’ve just finished reading a very enlightening/scary post by Trailer Park Unschoolers about the corn industry. The author and her children are watching a documentary titled “King Corn” which I’ve definitely added to my must watch list- I suggest you do the same. The film goes deep into the corn industry (hehehe) to reveal to us exactly what we’re putting in our bodies everyday. But apparently some areas are off limits. Enter corn syrup factories. Apparently, the team making the documentary were not allowed into corn syrup factory to see how it is processed. I don’t know about you, but the fact that the places that provide an ingredient present in just about everything we eat that isn’t directly from a farm is kinda freakin’ scary! Maybe I’m just being paranoid, but if they can’t tell us what we’re eating I’m curious to know why.

Just food for thought.

2 Responses to “One Nation, Under Corn”

  1. Fox October 18, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

    Thanks for mentioning us! Pretty scary, isn’t it? It’s really disturbing to know that we’re simply not allowed to see the processing of something that goes into so much of our food. It makes me think that maybe we really don’t want to know what goes on, and if that’s the case, maybe we really don’t want to eat it, you know?

  2. dancingleis October 18, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    That scares me! I’d like to know where all of my food comes from and how it is made, thank you very much. Hopefully it isn’t as bad as meat glue/pink slime!

Leave a Reply

